Skip to content

What’s in A Name (Prologue)

March 2, 2010

Dateline:  Tuesday, March 2, 2010

In elementary school, I heard that a certain Indian tribe didn’t name its babies right away after they were born.  The tribe would use a temporary name until the child was six.  Then, the tribe would give them the name that they’d use for the rest of their lives.

As a kid, I always liked the idea that the tribe took the time to learn something about the kid, so that it could choose a name that actually fit. The tribe didn’t try to fit a ”Man Who Hungers” into a “Light Foot” or a “Bears His Teeth” into a “Little Rabbit.”   Maybe I liked it so much because I thought I’d have been called something even cooler than “Mervyn.”  Something like “Kills with His Eyes” or “Mighty Skinny.”

I thought of this last night while I was trying to come up with names for this project.  I’d been back and forth on it for a while and couldn’t come up with anything I liked.  I knew I’d be traveling a lot over the next few months and that I wanted to write about it.  Because I like to eat, it’ll have food talk.  Because it’s me it’ll be disorganized, last minute, and random.  I have an idea of what it could be, but I don’t actually know what it is.  It’s an Indian baby situation.

So, I’ve decided to follow the tribe and let this thing do what it do.  Then, when it’s developed and got some character to it, I’ll give it a name that fits.  For now, though, the Still No Name Blog will have to do.

Enjoy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 3:49 pm

    FIRST!

  2. Fran permalink
    March 5, 2010 7:45 pm

    You’re schoolin me. I thought boxes with rope = unable to afford classy luggage.

    When you feel like you just can’t eat anymore, channel me and Ill get you through it.

    • March 6, 2010 3:00 pm

      I channeled you at Becca’s mom’s meal. Even leaned back from the table, sighed, then picked up the spoon and fork.

Leave a Reply

