Skip to content

Day 58 – No Rush

April 30, 2010

Dateline: Sihanoukville, Cambodia – Friday, April 30, 2010

Just another lazy day on the coast. No pictures or sightseeing. I haven’t even bothered to visit the beach even though this is supposedly a beach town.

For me, it was just heat and writing. I sat in my $5 room and pounded on the keyboard trying to put together the Similan dive entries. The format that I’ve decided to use is way more challenging than I first anticipated. It’s taking me way too long to get through. I’m half tempted to scrap it and start over, but I’m a bit over halfway done so I’m pretty much committed. I’m trapped in a device of my own making. A device that, despite my efforts, just might suck. Ah the perils of being a writer. You put your work out there and just hope you don’t hear your readers scream. If you are within earshot, then you console yourself with the happy fact that you actually have readers.

This job doesn’t pay me enough.

I was productive in other ways, though. I picked up my passport from the travel agent that arranged my Vietnam visa. I also bought a bus ticket to Phnom Penh for a bus that departs at 6:45 a.m. tomorrow. I thought about buying one straight through to Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam (formerly Saigon), but decided against it. The journey would have been 10 hours, at least. By stopping in Phnom Penh I get to split the trip into two legs. I also get to spend another day hanging out in the city. No rush.

To that end, I have nothing to add. Consider this a placeholder entry. I get at least a couple of those, don’t I?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

