Skip to content

Day 146 – Introduction to Liveaboard 1

July 27, 2010

Dateline: Bangkok, Thailand – Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Ah, at last! I haven’t used exclamation marks much, but I think here, one’s warranted. After months of agony, I’m (sorta) ready to post the Khao Lak dive trip entries from way back in March. Yup, frickin’ March.

One problem, I wrote the first two days of the four-day dive trip a long time back. Before I (kinda) knew what I was doing. I’m not saying I’m now Mark Twain or anything, but I’d like to think my writing sucks a lot less than it used to. Also, when I wrote the first two days, I planned to do a time stamped style of writing for the whole trip. The problem is, it got complicated fast. It takes a long time create a coherent narrative when you’re constrained by exact times. Also, I tended to include way more than was interesting. The format made me write way more than I should have and that’s saying something when you consider I seem able to drop 6,000 words of drivel at the drop of a hat. Really. I’m embarrassed.

The problem is, I don’t have the heart to cut down the first two days or to rewrite them into a less wordy format. Consequently, I’ve decided to leave those as is and make excuses instead of doing work.

I have, however, learned the error of my ways and abandoned the horrifying diary/time-stamp format for days three and four of the dive trip. I wrote those more recently, so I can’t make excuses for them. If they suck, it’s because of the writer I am today, not because I was still trying to find my writing way.

I do, however, reserve the right to make excuses for them later. With that, you can click here to see read Day 1 of the epic four-day scuba dive trip in the Similan and Surin islands off the coast of Khao Lak, Thailand and southern Burma.

GALLERY: None today, since all Mervyn did was spend the day writing.

LINK:  Click here to start reading from Day 1 of the four-day liveaboard trip to the Similan and Surin Islands.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

