Skip to content

Day 149 – Introduction to Liveaboard 4

July 30, 2010

Dateline: Bangkok, Thailand – Friday, July 30. 2010

Today was a travel day to Hua Hin,a beach town south of Bangkok. That meant more driving on the left side of the road. A group of us had a seafood dinner once we’d settled into our non-cheap hotels. After months of roughing it, I can’t complain.

I did manage to finish the dive posts today, so let me introduce the last of those. For four days I hadn’t set foot on land. On the ride back, I talked a bit to the old German diver who’d been diving in the Similans since the ‘70s. He’s also the same guy who thought I looked like Obama. He said he would dive until he wasn’t able. He’d retired in Thailand and in his spare time worked as a dive instructor. Every year, he and his wife did a four day liveaboard off Khao Lak. It sounds like a near perfect existence. I am giving that life serious consideration.

Now, on to the main event.

You can read about Day 4 of the dive trip here. Gallery is linked at the bottom of that page. Warning, there are a lot of pictures of me in a wetsuit.

GALLERY: Click through to see a slideshow of the pictures you see above.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. fon permalink
    August 31, 2010 1:46 am

    not exactly south of Bkk but in the province of Prachuapkirikhan 🙂

    • August 31, 2010 1:53 pm

      You’re right. My bad. I should have said southwest of Bangkok or south down the western coast of Thailand.

Leave a Reply

