Skip to content

Prologue to South America

October 10, 2010

Location: Living room floor, Southern California, California, U.S.A.

Date: Sunday, October 10, 2010

For some reason I can never sleep the night before I travel. Scratch that. I know the reason. I never sleep because I’m packing. Doesn’t matter whether it’s a three-day weekend in NYC or a five-month trip to Asia I barely sleep the night before I leave.

This night’s no exception. Or, this “early morning,” I should say. That’s because it’s 4 a.m. on Monday; my flight leaves in nine hours.

Funny thing is, I’ve done more planning for this trip than I ever have for any other. Unlike Asia, where I bought a ticket and planned as I went along, for this trip I know where I’m going, who I’m meeting, and when I’m going to be where. I like to think I’ve grown.

Still, I’m up all night notifying credit cards of my trip, stuffing clothes into stuff sacks, reviewing my pack list, and trying to rip a pile of Spanish language lesson CDs to mp3.

Welcome to the newly christened theoverpacker.com. As they say in Asia: “Same same, but different.” Expect the same sweeping generalizations about travel, food, and the perils of watching sports overseas (but better); the same pictures of far-from-the-U.S. places (but better); and the same level of service you’d expect from any other unpaid writer (but better).

You may have noticed a few differences since the Asia trip. You can visit the newly revamped archives where you’ll find all my previous posts, some of which I’m pretty sure don’t suck. Check out the FAQ and learn more about the site, including why it’s called The Overpacker. Most importantly, subscribe to the RSS feed—it’s the best way to find out when I post something new, considering my sometimes irregular posting schedule. (Even though I write every day, I can only post as my travel permits). Plus, it’s free delivery to the e-mail or RSS reader of your choice—the New York Times can’t even boast that (the free part).

With that, I’m off to finish off my last minute chores. Looking forward to traveling South America. I can only hope it gets better.

(Sense the theme?)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gibralter217 permalink
    October 13, 2010 11:28 am

    Just in case no one told you, south American women tend to have big breasts. They’re more or less the same as breasts found everywhere else (but better).

    Enjoy your trip!

Leave a Reply

