Skip to content

Day 23 – Recovery

November 2, 2010

Location: Bed, Lima, Peru

Date: Tuesday, November 2, 2010

I spent the day recovering from last night’s “activities” . I was able to rouse myself enough to join the family for a meal. I was still a little upside down, but I soldiered through half a salad.

The rest of the family dined on salchi papas or fried papa amarilla with two types of sausages topped with an egg over easy. This is on par with the first time I saw chili cheese fries. I thought the same thing today as I thought then: “Why didn’t I think of this before?” Bad stomach or not, I had a taste. It was just as greasy and delicious as I imagined. I chased a fork full with about two pounds of veggies.

Tomorrow, though, I will get back on the horse that bucked me. I will face the dog that bit me. I will fight my food hangover with more food.

I’m nothing if not stubborn. Plus, life’s too short to not eat.

GALLERY: No bonus pics today.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Doris permalink
    November 10, 2010 9:25 pm

    See, when I read this blog and especially these last few posts, I’m having a hard time understanding your discomfort when I was all upset and teary-eyed due to the Peruvian food truck being closed.

    • November 11, 2010 2:21 pm

      Would you really describe it as discomfort? I just was surprised.

      If it makes you feel better, you can chock it up to my ignorance being bliss. If I’d known the wonders of Peruvian food, perhaps I would have also shed a tear.

Leave a Reply

