Skip to content

Programming Note (A Message from the Future, Kinda)

December 4, 2010

I’m not dead.  Nor am I maimed.  I don’t even have a headache.  Thanks for asking, though.

You just haven’t heard from me because I haven’t been keeping up with my daily writing chore.

To realize just how far back I’ve fallen, you’ll need to first understand how this site works.  Posts are dated as of the date the incidents recounted therein in occurred.  In non-legalese, that means, for example, that the events of the “Day 55 – McDonald’s” occurred on Saturday, December 4th, 2010 and were posted as of that date.  In the time warp that this “The Overpacker“, though, the Day 55 post might have actually been written days after and been released on the site even later than that.

Now, just how far behind am I?  Just look at the date of this post and do some math.  It reads December 4th.  I am writing this “Programming Note” on Monday, December 27.  That means for nearly a month I haven’t written anything worth posting.  I have been a bad writer.  I have been a deliquient writer.  Actually, based on the my understanding of the definition of the word “writer”, because I haven’t done any writing, I’ve been a non-writer.  I guess I’ve just been a tourist.

But no more!  I commit to making up for lost time.  Expect a flurry of posts over the next few weeks.  Twice, thrice, perhaps even fivice posts a day.  For my own sanity, they will have to be shorter, otherwise my poor Patagonia frostbitten fingers may fall off.

Expect tales of Uruguay (an underrated travel destination), Buenos Aires (a second go around, but with less sitting on my ass), and a tale of overpacking my way through through a Christmas Patagonia trek (spoiler alert:  someone in the tale–I’m not saying who–did not complete the “W” circuit).

So sit back.  Nestle into that office chair or prison issue seat or whatever you happened to be chained to when you’re reading this.  Kiss the holidays goodbye.  Rub your winter belly.  And prepare yourself for rapid fire Overpacker.

With a little luck, we’ll be back on a normal schedule in time for me to resolve for the New Year that I’ll never fall behind on writing ever again.  That or my fingers will have fallen off from too much typing and I’ll have to resolve to learn to type with my toes.

See you around.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephan permalink
    December 29, 2010 12:51 pm

    And here I expected so much more from you. By the way, I could not remember the name of your blog, and I have spent almost all of December trying to find someone who knew the name of it. I did not try very hard, mind you: this was relegated to people near me at the time, many of whom did not know who the fuck a “Mervyn” was, and why I was talking to them. Coffee shops in San Francisco are so un-social.

    However, I have triumphed, found your blog, bookmarked it and all the rest, and lo and behold, you’ve renigged on your writing duties. I am the disappoint.

    I shall continue to check this pseudo regularly. When are you back in the States? We should talk. Life is crazy.

    • January 6, 2011 7:27 am

      Not sure if you heard of this thing called “e-mail.” Sometimes this works better than asking strangers about someone named after a bankrupt department store.

      Not sure when I’m getting back. We’ll see. Depends on the budget, which changes on a daily basis, kind of like the “instant mpg” gauge on your car–it just depends how much I spend and when the money in the kitty runs out.

    • January 6, 2011 7:34 am

      Also, you could always subscribe to the RSS feed by pasting this link: http://theoverpacker.com/feed/ into your RSS reader. An RSS reader, by the way, is sort of like e-mail, so you should probably learn about that first before you give this a shot.

Leave a Reply

