Skip to content

Day 67 – Park at the End of the Universe

December 16, 2010

Location: Parque Nacional Tierra del Fuego, Ushuaia, Argentina

Date: Thursday, December 16, 2010

Someone once said that a picture is worth a thousand words. I’m guessing that’s for really good pictures. Stuff by Cezanne and Picasso and Ansel Adams. I’m nowhere near those guys so let’s say my pictures are worth, oh, seventy-five words. With that formula in mind I’m about to drop over 3,000 words on you.

This is all a bit of chicanery, of course. I’m behind on writing so a pictorial post seems like a good way to move things along. Coming up with captions is a hell of a lot faster than writing something that has a beginning, end, and a narrative in the middle. With that, on to the pictures!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

GALLERY: Click through to see a couple pics that didn’t quite make the cut for the mega pictorial above.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 11:16 pm

    Funny stuff….

    What a beautiful place – off an on, at least! Heh.

    And my money is on fungus for ALL of that colorful stuff. There’s NO WAY that “fruit” is going to be growing down there.

    I want to provide a bit of defense for the beavers – they didn’t “invade”, after all. Big powerful humans brought them there, presumably against their will. And the dead trees are only the ones that were flooded by the pond the dam backed up. The beavers did not kill and strip (or strip and kill, for that matter) those trees – it’s just an unintended side effect of making the pond for their safety. Not that the trees are any better off, of course. I *am* curious about what they were eating down there – were there willows, aspens, or other deciduous trees? The ones I can see in the photo appeared to be evergreens of some kind, and I wasn’t aware that the beavers could survive on that sort of thing. Just ask the mailman!

    🙂

    • February 4, 2011 8:36 am

      I guess invade is the wrong word. “Overrun” perhaps?

      Interesting info about the dam killing the trees and not the beavers themselves. I had no idea.

      I don’t know my oaks from my aspens but I do know my evergreens and there are a lot of them down there. Do beavers eat any bushes? They were a lot of those down there.

Leave a Reply

