Skip to content

Day 221 – Bike Tour of Poop (Guadalajara)

May 19, 2011

Location: Guadalajara, Mexico

Date: Thursday, May 19, 2011

Sometimes you want to love a place but one rude resident ruins the whole place for you. Guadalajara, unfortunately, was that place for me.

My goal was to take a quick bike tour of the city before hopping a bus to Puerto Vallarta. Everything started fine. I traded my ID for a bike from the hostel, grabbed a map, then headed out on a loop around the city’s sites. I had plenty of time for a leisurely bike ride.

Guadalajara is big. It’s Mexico’s second largest city. Biking it is not some leisurely tour through a pueblito. It’s a journey through busy city streets.

Which is fine. I dodged my way through traffic to the old city center which has all the museums, old churches, and principal plaza. There’s a lot of open space and pedestrian and bike only areas. It’s lovely. I was admiring architecture and enjoying the breeze of a freewheeling bike when I stopped to take a picture up the main pedestrian stretch.

Then it happened. An unprovoked assault by a city resident that gutted what should have been a two hour longer tour of the city center.

Out of the sky I was hit with pigeon poop. Not a little, but a handful of the stuff. I looked up but the culprit was gone. As urine and feces soaked into my clothing and hair I reviewed my options: (1) continue the bike tour marinating in bird filth or head back early, grab a shower, and avoid being “that guy” on 5 hour bus to the coast.

I headed back to the hostel. I showered.

Guadalajara gave me lucha libre. It also gave me a head full of pigeon shit. I think I pretty much broke even.

Next time, though, I think I’ll skip the bike and just take the tour bus. And avoid the second level open roof.

Till next time Guadalajara.

GALLERY: No bonus pictures today. Mervyn got pooped on.

Mervyn is a traveler who brings too much, eats too much, and writes way too much.  To learn more, read his overwritten FAQ or flip through the archives.  If you enjoyed this post, feel free to recommend it using the buttons below.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

